Feast of the Black Nazarene – Quiapo, Manila

Newspapers say that more than a million devotees joined the festivities and grand procession of the revered Black Nazarene in Manila yesterday. I was one of those million people who braved the rain to celebrate and be part of this most awaited festivities in the country.

On a personal note, the Black Nazarene has granted my request a few years back and I’m truly thankful for that blessing He has given me. It is my first time to attend this celebration and yet I feel comfortable… I belong.

With feet drenched in mud, we walked around Quiapo while waiting for Nazareno.

I climbed up the stage where cameras from different stations were set just to get this shot. Rain or shine, there’s no stopping the devotees of Nazareno from celebrating this spectacular religious event.

The devotees in maroon and yellow shirts wave their small replicas of the Black Nazarene together with their handkerchiefs during the procession as they sing and pray.

This man wearing a white cloak imagines to possess whimsical powers to heal using “anting-anting” or amulet.

We felt hungry and so we decided to eat street food. I had 5 pcs of quail eggs for 15 pesos. The vinegar with cucumber, onion, and chili was good. I wish I had more but that’s too much cholesterol.

This man sells replicas of the Black Nazarene made from carved and hand-painted wood.

It was raining so hard I had to cover my camera with a towel, hence this shot. Devotees walk barefoot as a sign of humility.

Guardians held umbrellas to protect this replica of the Black Nazarene. You can also see the cluster of people trying to get a top view of the Nazareno from that side of the bridge.

This is the best spot to take a top view of the procession….that’s why most of the photographers are lined up here.

photo by: mishale aragoncillo

The crowd start to get packed as they await for the Nazareno to pass coming from Escolta. It is believed that the rope attached to the carriage of the Black Nazarene has healing powers that’s why devotees take risks just to touch the rope or the Nazarene if they can.

photo by: mishale aragoncillo

photo by: mishale aragoncillo

A sea of devotees united by faith. It just gives a different feeling seeing this huge number of people waving their towels/handkerchiefs and shouting all praise and glory “Viva! Viva!”.

photo by: mishale aragoncillo

photo by: mishale aragoncillo

This shows the significance of Jesus Christ in our lives. This celebration strengthened my faith and helped me grow spiritually. I know that it’s not only during this kind of events should we remember Christ and his teachings but everyday by living as true disciples of God.

It has been a wonderful experience and I’m thankful for that. Til next year and the years to come.

4 responses to “Feast of the Black Nazarene – Quiapo, Manila

  1. Hi! I chanced upon your blog while editing my blog post about the Feast of the Black Nazarene in Quiapo. I was looking for other bloggers who may have posted something about the same topic and accidentally found yours. I love your take on the subject and I was impressed with the photographs. Good job. My blog is barely 6 months old and still undergoing development. I would definitely appreciate any feedback from people with the same interest. If you’re interested pls check this link.
    http://www.myislandtrek.com/2011/02/feast-of-black-nazarene-in-quiapo.html

Leave a Reply

