Gloria Maris – Araneta Center, Cubao

It was past 7pm and my mom didn’t have enough time to prepare dinner… and so we had an impromptu dinner. It took us more than 30 minutes to arrive in Araneta Center due to heavy traffic. It was James Ingram’s concert that night, hence the heavy traffic and the full parking lot. We spent another 10 minutes looking for a parking space in Gateway Mall. Oh… I was thinking, dinner should be good…

We headed to Gloria Maris for some tummy-filing Chinese meal.

 

On the table:

 

We couldn’t decide what dimsum to order; I thought the Dimsum Combination platter (Php 247) is a great choice. It has assorted dumplings like hakaw, japanese siomai, siomai, beancurd roll, and some sort of seaweed with sesame seeds. It was a solid starter while waiting for our main course to arrive.

 

The Asado Noodle Soup (Php 178) arrived steaming hot. Each sip was packed with the tasty Asado flavor. The meat was tender and easy to cut and chew, same with the noodles that remained firm yet tender.

The Lechon Macau (Php 268) was cooked nice and crisp. I love the sauce that came with it, it went well with the tender meat and crispy skin of the lechon.

Mom wanted a fish dish and chose Sweet and Sour Fish Fillet (Php 268). The seemingly ordinary dish turned out to be a flavorful meal. Not to mention, healty too! The fish fillet was loaded with sweet and sour sauce with lot of carrots and bell peppers, and onion strips. The flavor brings fireworks to the mouth… yum!!!

Among all the food on the table, the Fried Squid with Salt and Pepper (Php 278) was my favorite. Dunk it on the vinegar with chili and chow it down… ooohlalala… It’s undeniably the best dish for the night. I love the easy to chew squid… not gummy, and the crunchy breading. It explodes in the mouth like a bomb!!!

We thought we should get a noodle dish other than the Asado noodle soup so we ordered Crispy Noodle with Mixed Vegetables (Php 228). It is like the usual noodle/pancit dish just with a crispy noodle. I didn’t get to eat much of this pancit.

I ate and ate until such time I realized I ate too much there’s no more room for the Seafood Mango Salad (Php 168) or for dessert. Still, I ate about 2 spoonfuls of this salad. I find it interesting to combine seafood and fruits, though I’m not a big fan of it. As for the Seafood Mango Salad, it has crabsticks and shrimps and mango chunks topped with cream and cherry. Surprisingly, it was good. The sweet and tangy mango chunks paired well with the crabstick and shrimps.

Overall, I give Gloria Maris a clap, clap, clap for the good food that we had. Though I hope you could improve more by maintaining clean and presentable tables/seats. Some of the  seat covers are already torn and badly need a replacement.

For families and friends who are looking for some good tasting Chinese food, visit Gloria Maris and you will definitely leave the place with a smile… and a heavy tummy.  🙂

 

Note: I didn’t bring my camera that night and so I would like to thank my sister-in-law, Cy, for taking photos of the food using her Iphone.

 

Gloria Maris

 

Address: G/F Coliseum Circle, Araneta Center Cubao, Quezon City

Contact Number: 63 (2) 421-7362

Leave a Reply

